2 Comments

So bad it’s good?

What makes a movie so bad that you absolutely love it? I know my friends and I are not alone in our nights of watching B-horror films just to make fun of them. There’s something oddly satisfying about it.

True nerds out there know that there used to be a show devoted to this premise – Mystery Science Theater 3000. If you haven’t seen it, please do yourself a favor and watch an episode. My favorite is Horror at Party Beach.

Why do such awful movies become popular because they’re so awful? I recently watched a documentary that asked exactly the same question. This documentary, ladies and gents, was about Troll 2.

According to several websites (IMDb, Rotten Tomatoes, etc), this is THE worst movie ever made. The acting is horrible. The special effects are horrible. The writing….well, you get the picture. If you don’t believe me, check out this scathing review.  And yet, people seem drawn to this movie. Admit it, now you’re curious about something deemed “the worst movie ever made.” You think to yourself, it couldn’t possible be that bad. I bet I’ve seen worse movies. So now you almost feel obligated to watch it, just to see whether or not it lives up to that title.

The funny thing is, Troll 2 has a cult following. People have designed shirts, hosted screenings…the list goes on. The documentary never really explains how it happened, or why, but it is entertaining to see how such a horrendous movie affects its audience.

Now it’s time for a personal confession: I, too, have a B (possibly C movie) that I enjoy watching. Anyone out there ever seen Teen Witch? It’s basically about a girl who inherits magical powers on her 16th birthday, but it’s so much more than that. I don’t think it’s technically classified as a musical, but there are several scenes where characters break into song. Feast your eyes on this little gem:

Why do I like it? I have no clue. Will we ever have an answer to this question? Do YOU have a favorite horrible movie?

This week’s vocab word-

Atrocious (adj.): 1. extremely brutal or cruel    2. appalling, horrifying    3. utterly revolting

The atrocious rapping in Teen Witch wasn’t enough to make me look away!

Want to know why there are vocab words in my blog posts? Check out Toilet Terms.
2 comments on “So bad it’s good?

  1. I don’t have a favorite horrible movie but I think I have a movie that has to be worse than Troll 2. Has to be. It’s called Ice From The Sun and you can find the Netflix link here: http://movies.netflix.com/Movie/Ice_from_the_Sun/60024013?trkid=1851333. God help us all who had to sit through that crap. MST3K was a great show I must agree.

  2. I’ve been thinking about this recently. I saw “The Happening” a little while ago, and I thought it was terrible. But I realized not long into the movie that if you treat it as a comedy, it’s actually pretty good.

    However, a month or two ago, I saw “The Divide”. Not only was that movie god-awful, it wasn’t god-awful in a “good” or funny way. It was just plain bad. So I don’t know why some things are so bad they’re good, while others are just bad. Might want to ask Rebecca Black.

    I haven’t seen “Troll 2”, but I’ve heard of it, and I’ll admit, I’m pretty curious…

Have something to say? Please comment!

