1 Comment

Getting to Baltimore & Sightseeing Day 1

Welcome to my first official Baltimore Sweet Adeline Convention blog post!

7:45am – Arrive in Baltimore

I traveled most of the night from southern California to get here and was less than successful trying to sleep on the plane. I’m so excited though! I took an obligatory picture of the convention sign at the airport, because reasons.

20141101_075812

My shuttle driver talks exactly like Biz Markie. So much so that I’m hard pressed to understand what he’s saying. Although he seemed excited that there’s a singing competition going on in his city.

It is at this point, however my well thought out plan ends. I used AirBNB to find a place to stay for the first night of my journey, and it’s not like it’s ahotel where I can leave my bags until check in time. It’s a private residence where I’m renting a spare room. I am meeting my hosts for the day at 11:00am, but that leave me a couple of hours to kill. I check my bags at my future hotel hoping they won’t notice I’m not actually a guest. Then I wander around Baltimore by myself looking for breakfast, which I find at Panera. During breakfast I realize I have forgotten to pack socks. Thankfully I can stop at Marshalls on my way back to my future-hotel.

It is at this point I question the merit of wandering Baltimore by myself, even during the daytime, because I witness a woman being harassed by a man in a car. He has actually slowed down and pulled over to the curb to try and talk to her through his window while she walks down the sidewalk. Ok, walk a little faster…

I un-check my baggage from my future-hotel and walk about half a mile to a very quaint apartment and meet my hosts for the day. This is going to work out great! They are dressed in PJ’s, enjoying a cloudy day breakfast, and I find out they’re nerds. We always find each other, I suppose. So I finish some homework while one of the hosts plays Destiny on XBOX. We briefly discuss that LoveSac makes couches now, and I come up with a plan for the remainder of my day. Time to go sightseeing!

First I visited the Chesapeake, a lightship in the Chesapeake Bay that served as a guide for ships coming into the harbor. I got a chance to see how the ship’s crew lived and worked. The harbor is a beautiful place.

 20141101_145139

20141101_144029

20141101_145536

Next I went the Top of the World. The 27th floor of the Baltimore World Trade Center has been turned into a viewpoint of the city, complete with a memorial for the Maryland residents who were killed on 9/11.

20141101_152101 20141101_152057

Then I discovered a place called It’s Sugar. A sweets shop on steroids! They even have something called a gummy bear keg. I’m surprised I made it out of that store without buying it. I did buy more candy than I needed, but hey, it’s a vacation, right?

Finally, I wrapped up my day at Pratt St. Alehouse right across the street from the convention center. I had a delicious burger that was topped with crabmeat. Sooo good! The atmosphere was only marred by the fact that Frozen on Ice is in town tonight and the room I was seated in contained 18 little girls under age 7 and only 8 adults (yes, I counted). That was a little much, but also amusing.

Tomorrow I meet up with some chorus friends and take a tour of the city. The best is yet to come, rehearsals start on Tuesday!

This is just something amusing from a gift shop. Enjoy!

20141101_152321

One comment on “Getting to Baltimore & Sightseeing Day 1

  1. […] I took a one-week trip for a singing competition/vacation, and was still trying to do homework on the […]

Have something to say? Please comment!

