3 Comments

We’re Gonna Party Like It’s 1599

Saturday I finally went to the Renaissance Pleasure Faire in Irwindale, CA with my uncle. I’ve been wanting to go for years, but it just never ended up happening.

First of all, I didn’t even realize the vast expanse that is the Santa Fe Dam Recreation Area existed. We drove a winding gravel and dirt road to the “parking area” which was just a more organized section of dirt. Instead of having to remember something like Minnie 4B, we had a single yellow flag to help us find our car upon returning.

Before we get out of the car, we’ve already seen 30-40 people in costume. I knew that this was the norm, but after feeling how hot it was, I couldn’t believe people actually adorn themselves in all those layers and walk around all day.

As we approached the ticket booth, a man in costume turned to me and asked “Did you encounter any robbers on your travels, m’lady?”

Oh boy, here we go…I haven’t even set foot in the faire yet and my experience has begun. I’m grinning like an idiot. This is like entering another world. A million questions start running through my brain: do these people spend a ton of money making their own costumes? Do they all know each other? Do they go to other ren faires in other places? What IS this world I’ve just entered?

The first thing we see when we enter the grounds is a brothel, naturally. A bunch of women in white face makeup sitting on a porch, taunting passersby. The next sight to behold is a minstrel group performing in a small amphitheater.

20150502_114537

More questions arise: Where does one learn how to play outdated instruments? Do you suppose they got into the world of ren faire and then decided to learn an applicable instrument or was it the other way around?

As we make our way through the booths and past the activities, we observe many different types of people. Some are dressed as royalty, others are dressed as common folk, still others look more like pirates. The level of detail in their outfits vary. Although it looks like any accessories you’re missing can easily be purchased here at the faire.

We were watching people shoot bows and arrows when suddenly the queen and her procession came down the road. So we stopped to watch them pass by.

After the processional, we found the equivalent of a food court with such tasty offerings as toad-in-a-hole, bratwurst, many varieties of potatoes, and beer, naturally. Many people even had their drinking vessels tied to their belts like goblets, flasks, and pewter mugs. After we picked some food and found some shade, I found out one of my friends was also at the faire. We connected and she gave me some pointers on sights to see and shows to experience.

On to the shopping! We passed row after row of vendors selling many handmade items. Even a blacksmith who creates beautiful (and sharp!) blade, knives, and swords. At one of the stalls, I saw someone dressed as a character from Game of Thrones. I couldn’t resist asking him if I could take a picture. His outfit was so spot on! And you’ll notice in the background, the thrilling adventure of turtle racing….yep, actual turtles.

Littlefinger himself at the Renaissance Faire!

Littlefinger himself at the Renaissance Faire!

We passed a reading of a dramatic scene:

20150502_125130

A group of aristocrats dining and chatting among themselves:

20150502_125138

And some viking warriors wearing animal pelts and armor. Seriously, this looks sweltering. I don’t know how they did it.

20150502_134832

At one of the amphitheaters, we stopped to watch the Moonie Show. It’s a mix between comedy, tricks, and general audience harassment. Most of the time, he communicated via whistling. While it sounds impossible, I can tell you that when you whistle at a certain pitch and cadence, it really does communicate “get the F&%# out” quite effectively. It was hilarious.

Just up the road was the joust, where we took a seat in the section of Sir Maximilian, the vain. He lived up to his name.

20150502_141014_017

He also happened to be be excellent at jousting. The woman leading our section in cheers of “huzzah!” and “God save the Queen!” was very good at her job. She had all sorts of information about Sir Max and was able to get us cheering and booing as was appropriate throughout the match.

20150502_141938_016

After a bit more wandering and window shopping we headed toward the exit. One of the vendors I stopped at was selling wooden frames and mounts for family crests and family trees. He asked “are you enjoying my wood?” Hardy har har.

Last, but not least, we spied Gandalf wandering the faire and made our way to the parking dirt.

20150502_144304

Overall we did a bit of walking, a bit of eating, and a whole lot of people watching. Although I felt coated in a layer of dust and sweat, it was a fun day.

Who knows? Maybe next year I’ll find a suitable costume and blend right in.

P.S. After telling multiple people about my experience, the most common reaction is “That was your first ren faire? You seem like the kind of person who goes all the time.” I’m not entirely sure what t hat means about me…

3 comments on “We’re Gonna Party Like It’s 1599

  1. Thanks for sharing these photos! My Ren Faire experience is solely through Big Bang Theory. That needs to remedied asap! This looks like fun. I will say that I’ve been to the Scottish Fair and the Dicken’s Christmas Fair….kind of similar, but just not the real deal.

    • Yes, I love the Dicken’s Fair too, but this is a different animal altogether. People really immerse themselves in it. I felt like with the Dicken’s Fair, most people were spectators, or maybe I just wasn’t aware of how many people were dressed up and just attending vs. working the event…

      If you come down to SoCal next May, let me know. We should get a big group together!

  2. Definitely try it in costume! It makes RenFests so much better! twofairewenches.wordpress.com

Have something to say? Please comment!

