1 Comment

A Tale of Two Weddings: Dressing for the Occasion

Wedding #1 is quickly approaching, and I nearly have my outfit complete. As I mentioned in the first post, this wedding is black tie preferred, with the preference being floor length gowns for women. Initially I was stressed out about this, but the bride actually turned me on to a site call www.renttherunway.com. You can have a dress shipped to you, in more than one size, and then you ship it back after the event.

This is a fantastic idea, because I doubt I’ll have another reason to wear a formal gown like that again. I spent some time researching the type of dress I want to wear and finally decided on this one:

ADP31

Now for the accessories. I’m actually thinking of wearing the shoes that my quartet wears for competition. They’re sparkly, and not too uncomfortable. So why not?

20140119_175703

I’m still trying to find the right earrings and clutch. So the last minute search is on. Target, here I come!

Wedding #2 requires more thought. Could I cop out and wear purple? Sure. Am I going to? No. I am more creative than that! I need to figure out how I am going to incorporate video games into my outfit. I could just wear video game related items like many of the wardrobe options from ThinkGeek. On the other hand, I could try for a particular video game character. My knowledge of video games these days is pretty limited. I was a Nintendo girl growing up, so I didn’t play some of the more popular games with recognizable characters…unless we’re talking MarioKart or Donkey Kong. One of the ideas I’ve been considering is Lara Croft. Her outfit is simple: shorts, tank top, combat boots, some sort of satchel.

laracroft

I think I would leave off the gun holsters. However, this would involve buying an entire outfit. I haven’t owned boots like that since 1999, when I briefly owned a pair of Dr. Martens. They were wonderful, they were comfortable….they got stolen. Joke’s on you, pal! I have two different sized feet, so it’s not like you could ever wear them. Ok, I’m over it, I swear.

So I’m still mulling over my options for wedding #2. I keep you posted when I figure it out.

Stay tuned for pictures from the upcoming black tie event. It’s this weekend!

One comment on “A Tale of Two Weddings: Dressing for the Occasion

  1. […] wedding invitation had specified “purple or video game attire,” I decided to go with a Lara Croft-esque outfit. Unfortunately, I was the only one. Most people chose the purple option, or wore a t-shirt with a […]

Have something to say? Please comment!

