Leave a comment

A Tale of Two Weddings: Wedding #1

Well it finally arrived, and it certainly did not disappoint. Wedding #1 was Saturday 6/27, and I shall attempt to walk you through the evening.

My dress arrived on schedule. I was relieved that I chose one size down as my backup option, because that was what I ended up wearing (pictures to follow). I decided to Uber it to the wedding so I wouldn’t have to worry about drinking. It turned out great. The driver seemed surprised by how formally I was dressed. I explained about the wedding and we swapped wedding stories. He was actually really laid back and funny.

As usual, I overestimated how long it would take to get there. I was afraid I’d be the first one there, but thankfully I wasn’t. I met up with the bass of my quartet, and we signed the guest book.

20150627_170345

Then we took our seats in the lovely outdoor courtyard. With two winding staircases, a flowing fountain, and palm trees swaying, it was very picturesque.

20150627_171856

A bunch of my friends from Harborlites Chorus friends were there and we took up the better part of two rows.

20150627_171944_001

While we waited for the ceremony to begin, we were privileged to listen to a four-piece string quartet playing both pop and classical pieces. When the bridal party walked down the aisle, the quartet began playing Pachelbel’s Canon in D. Then we turned to watch the bride comes down the staircase.

20150627_174255_024

It really was a stunning dress, with beading nearly down to her knees and a full length veil. The remainder of the ceremony consisted of a reading of an excerpt from the Alchemist, a soprano singing a lovely Latin benediction, and a lariat ceremony. I think this is my favorite picture of the bride and groom.

20150627_181458

From there, we headed to cocktail hour, where there were absolutely delicious hors d’oeuvres and an open bar. Time for selfies!

20150627_192017

We had time to admire everyone’s beautiful dresses and chat about the ceremony, and then we were allowed into the main reception area. Although I have been to this venue before, I had never been to this particular area. It looks like they have remodeled or added banquet facilities to be a bit more modern. It looked kind of like a night club.

20150627_192538

The centerpieces, like every floral arrangement at the wedding, was made up of white roses (the bride’s favorite flower).

20150627_192543

The guests were each given a shot glass containing a small bottle of Fireball…and some jordan almonds (not pictured). TO me this said “here’s what the bride would like to give you, and here’s what the bride’s mother is making her include to be traditional.” It was sort of a strange combo.

20150627_19344420150627_192810

That shot glass is SO the bride. Our table decided fairly quickly that we needed to make use of this shot at some point. We were the fun table, for sure.

The bridal party made their way in. Unfortunately, they were walking too fast for me to get any non-blurry pictures in. Then the bride and groom arrived and immediately began their first dance as husband and wife. Awwwww!

20150627_194643

Dinner came in as a sort of conga line of dancing waiters…yep, I got it onvideo.

The toasts were given, which were just the right amount of funny and heartfelt. The open bar continued throughout the evening, which may or may not be responsible for the subsequent lack of pictures on my part. Basically after several more drinks and discovering the photo booth, I was too distracted to document the remainder of the evening. So you’ll just have to settle for my descriptions and using your imagination.

20150627_213515

At one point during the reception, the groom asked all of the men who are currently or ever have been a barbershopper to join him on the floor, where the bride was sitting in a chair. The group then broke into a perfectly 4-part harmonized version of Let Me Call You Sweetheart. It was pretty adorable.

The father-daughter dance, which may actually have occurred earlier in the evening (seriously, open bar), was also very sweet. They danced to a recording of the bride singing Somewhere Over the Rainbow when she was only 4 years old. It wasn’t even a typical give-them-the-benefit-of-the-doubt kind of kid singing either, it was perfectly in key and very sweet.

At some point, the song Fireball by Pitbull came on, and our table took that as a sign that the time to take our shot had arrived. So we did.

The groom’s mother had never heard our quartet sing, so we left the reception area briefly to sing for her, which was really fun, but difficult because even outside the main room it was quite loud. So we were probably shouting.

Instead of taking Uber home, one of the girls at my table offered to drop me off on her way home.

Overall it was a fantastic evening, and I’m so glad I was able to go. If you ever get invited to a black tie affair, go for it!

Have something to say? Please comment!

